ANBI stands for Algemeen Nut Beogende Instelling or public benefit organisation. This means that the museum is exempt from inheritance and gift tax, so you can be sure that your gift or legacy will go where you want. Moreover, donors to organisations designated as cultural public benefit organisations are entitled to an additional gift deduction as from 2012. The cultural ANBI status means that you may be eligible for a tax benefit for your gift. Read more about the tax benefits.

Official ANBI information for the Centraal Museum


Centraal Museum Foundation

Dutch Chamber of Commerce number




Postal address

Centraal Museum
PO Box 2106
3500 GC

Centraal Museum Foundation mission statement:

  • the museological opening of existing or future buildings that are available to the Centraal Museum, such as the historic museum complex on Agnietenstraat/Nicolaaskerkhof in Utrecht, the nijntje museum and the Rietveld Schröder House. This includes a collection of designs by Dick Bruna, the Van Baaren collection and Rietveld collection;
  • to preserve, manage, selectively expand and improve and co-display the collections on loan to the foundation;

Management structure

Centraal Museum Foundation is managed by the Board of Directors, which consists of artistic director Bart Rutten and business director Marco Grob.

The Foundation has a Supervisory Board whose task is to supervise the policy of the Management Board and the general course of affairs in the Foundation and its affiliated organisation.. The Supervisory Board supports the Management Board with advice.

Remuneration policy

The terms and conditions of employment of the Management Board are determined by the Supervisory Board, with due observance of the laws and regulations (Wet normering bezoldiging topfunctionarissen publieke en semipublieke sector).

The members of the Supervisory Board receive a remuneration of €256 per meeting, the chairperson receives €316. They may claim reimbursement for up to six meetings annually.

Centraal Museum employees are covered by the collective labour agreement for the Dutch Association of State Museums.